Manic Mangoes & Cardamom Cupcakes for #SundaySupper

There’s something about a Mango that makes me want to forget all about being dainty. Or at least pretending to be. As far as I can remember, devouring mangoes has always involved a big fat mess for me. But, a very juicy one, nonetheless. I can’t for the life of me look at a mango and picture myself eating it without having streaks of mango juice rolling down my hands. Growing up, it was always a race to slurp up as much of the mango’s juicy flesh before its juice went dribbling down my chin, hands and dress.

And that’s how I ate a couple of mangoes before I got myself to stop and bake these cupcakes. Biting into the fat, juicy, mango flesh brought back memories of me sitting at my folks’ table, gleefully eating as much as mum would ration out. Summers were bearable only because it was mango season. Even though I grew up with family that loves mangoes, I still haven’t figured out how to pick the tastiest mangoes and what varieties are the sweetest to eat plain or for various other dishes*.  The only thing I know is to sniff the end where the stalk cuts off and if it smells sweet and delicious, you buy a cartload of them.

But, living in the US has been somewhat of a challenge in that department. I can spend hours in the grocery store sniffing all the mangoes in stock…and…nothing. The distinct sweet smell of the mangoes I’ve eaten in India cannot be found anywhere. Actually, the mangoes here don’t smell at all. So, I have no idea when it comes to judging the most yummy mangoes. In India, even walking past a stall selling mangoes will give you the most heady whiff of sweet, sweet mangoes.

To save myself from disappointment this time, I bought two types of mangoes – Champagne and a Guatemalan variety whose skin was a bright red and green. The Guatemalan was the closest I’ve eaten to the sweet Indian mangoes. So, I did what any mango lover would do. I cut the flesh in such a way that I purposely accidentally left a lot of flesh around the seed, so I HAD to eat all the pulp around the seed. Made me a happy kid.

And then, I put together this burst of mango madness with this cupcake! Trust me, you can’t get more mango in a cupcake – there’s mango in the cupcake batter, there’s a mango curd in the middle and then there’s mango in the whipped frosting. I was dreaming mangoes after that. I still am.

The cardamom in the cupcake adds a lovely spicy flavor and those who are more adventurous can up the amount that I added. I went a little conservative in the beginning but the next time I’m making this, I’m going to add half the amount more. Yummmm! The mango curd in the middle? Pure heaven. This tangy curd cuts the sweet cupcake like a hot knife to butter. Absolutely smooth! And all that’s topped with a fluffy poof of mango cream. Seriously, I’m ready not to share this with anyone. Mwahahaha.

If you’re game to try this for yourself, here’s how you make this mango madness! But, before you head over to the recipe, do visit these bunch of lovely bloggers who’re whipping up a storm in their kitchens for a special #SundaySupper for the Memorial Day weekend – it’s quite a spread, so keep those salivary glands revved!

Getting Happy Hour Started:

Going Green:

Sizzling from the Grill:

Boozy Food:

For the Sweet Tooth:

Find the perfect wine pairing for all these recipes by Wine Everyday

Mango Madness Cardamom Cupcake
(Makes 8 regular sized cupcakes)

Ingredients and instructions

Total number of mangoes required: 3 fairly large ones – sweet, fleshy and juicy (pick a variety that fits the bill, see explanation above*)

Peel, slice and roughly puree the 3 mangoes^.

For the mango curd:

  • 1/3 portion of the mango puree^ or 1 large mango peeled, pitted and pureed
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • Pinch of salt
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Pulse the mango, sugar, lemon juice, vanilla extract and salt in a blender till combined. Add the egg yolks and pulse again till all the yolks are well mixed.

Set up a double boiler by placing a bowl on top of a saucepan simmering with water, making sure the water doesn’t touch the bottom of the bowl. Pour your mango mixture into the bowl and whisk constantly till thickened, for 10-15 minutes or more. Remove from heat and add the pieces of butter till it’s melted and mixed well with the mango curd. Set aside to cool and refrigerate before use.

For the cupcakes:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/3 teaspoon cardamom powder
  • 6 tablespoons salted butter (I love baking with salted over unsalted, even though I’ve heard that salted aren’t really “pure”), at room temperature
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 tablespoons greek yogurt
  • 1/3 portion of the mango puree^ or 1 large mango peeled, pitted and pureed

Preheat the oven to 350degF. Mix your dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, baking soda and cardamom powder – in a bowl and set aside.

In another bowl, cream the butter and sugar for a minute. Add the egg and beat for 30 seconds. Add the vanilla extract and mix well. Using a spatula or wooden spoon, gently fold in the dry ingredients in four batches, alternating with the greek yogurt but finishing with the flour. Stir in the mango puree.

Fill cupcake liners in muffin tin with batter, till each liner is 3/4 full. Bake in preheated oven for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in to a cupcakes comes out clean, with no traces of batter.

Cool completely on a wire rack before serving.

For the frosting (warning: this makes double the quantity required but, tastes just like mango mousse or ice cream, if frozen, so I purposely made extra):

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream, chilled
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 portion of the mango puree^ or 1 large mango peeled, pitted and pureed

Chill a bowl and the electric beater blades in the freezer for 10 minutes. Remove from freezer and beat the chilled whipping cream in it till it gets to the consistency of soft peaks. Add the sugar and beat till the consistency reaches hard peaks. Fold in the mango puree.

Assembling the cupcakes: Core each cupcake and reserve the little pieces. Fill the cavities with the mango curd and gently press down the cored pieces back in. Pipe with the mango frosting on top.

18 responses to “Manic Mangoes & Cardamom Cupcakes for #SundaySupper

  1. Me too – the stuff gets everywhere, it’s really good though! I’m on a big mango kick at the moment – just made mango chutney too :D. Those cupcakes look absolutely divine – so pretty.

  2. I will have to make these cupcakes for my mother. She loves mangoes and will eat them any opportunity she can. She also has a big sweet tooth so they would be perfect for her.

  3. Oooh these look so so good!I’m loving all the mango desserts that are part if this #sundaysupper!!Absolutely delicious 🙂

  4. Oh em gee. Look at that gooey yummy goodness!!!

    So, are there leftovers? Because if so I call dibs!

  5. YUM! I love mangos too, although I never had them growing up. Have you seen Baker Street’s mango cheesecake post this week? And my SundaySupper is a ham & mango salad. Clearly we’re all on the same page this week!

  6. Pingback: Lite Mango Coconut Ice Cream with Berry Ginger Topping #SundaySupper·

  7. this looks so yummy! and being that my hubby is Finnish – the Cardamon is a great fit! I may have to modify and try to make these gluten free so I can eat them too.
    I agree with y’all mangos are awesome – I make a Sweet Heat Mango Hot pepper Sauce that is awesome on everything! Great post thanks for sharing!

  8. I’ve been eating mangoes in every possible form these days. Blame my desi genes 😛 … These cupcakes look delicious. Can you ship me some?

It's your turn to say something...don't be shy now...I only burn spam in my oven :)